The Chancellor of the Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology (NM-AIST) and former Vice President of the United Republic of Tanzania, Hon. Dr Mohammed Gharib Bilal, he conferred Masters and PhD degrees to 121 students. Among these students, 85 were conferred Masters among them, 12 students, as direct beneficiaries of WISE-Futures scholarship which is funded by World Bank, while 36 were conferred PhD degrees. The event was held at the NM-AIST Tengeru Campus yesterday 29 August 2020.

In his speech, the Chairman of the Council of the NM-AIST Prof. Joseph Rwegasira Buchweishaija thanked the Government of the United Republic of Tanzania under the leadership of President John Pombe Joseph Magufuli for continued support to the institution which is extended through the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology under the special scheme of the Higher Education Students Loans Board to the NM-AIST students. He added that this scheme is one of the important support which enables more youngsters to have access to higher education offered by the NM-AIST. More importantly, Prof. Buchweishaija appreciated the government for its political will to work very closely with various development partners who have been funding students in terms of tuition fee, research funding, students and staff exchange programmes which have been an integral part of this achievement.

Prof Rwegasira expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the World Bank for funding two centres of excellence at the NM-AIST, namely: The Africa Centre for Research, Agricultural Advancement, Teaching Excellence and Sustainability (CREATES) and Water Infrastructure and Sustainable Energy Futures (WISE – Futures), the African Development Bank(AfDB), and the Germany government through its Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) for funding Centre of Excellency of ICT in East Africa (CENIT@EA) and many others for their valuable support to the NM-AIST.

The Vice-Chancellor of the NM-AIST, Prof. Emmanuel J. Luoga said that the graduands of this years were properly trained and hence qualified to be awarded various Masters and PhD degree programmes.